What is shadow banning on TikTok and how do you know if your account has been affected? A “shadow ban” on TikTok is when a user’s account is restricted or hidden from the platform’s public view without the user being notified. This can happen for a variety of reasons – mainly if you have violated the platform’s community guidelines or used third-party software to artificially boost the visibility of your content.
How do I know if I’m shadow banned?
As a result of being shadow banned, your content won’t show up on the For You page. You may also find you’ve had a significant drop in likes, views, and comments.
How is it determined?
The automated shadow ban algorithm is in place to help protect users from copyright issues. According to TikTok, guidelines are updated to combat new behaviours and risks, and to uphold a safe community for its users.
Here are some reasons you could be shadow banned on TikTok:
- Posting Adult Content – This is namely sexually explicit content, and it may get you kicked off the platform altogether.
- Bullying or Harassment – As with any social media platform, hateful behaviour is not taken lightly.
- Copyright Infringement – Uploading videos that violate or infringe someone’s copyrights, trademarks, or intellectual property rights.
- By Accident – Mass automation can make mistakes, after all, it is an algorithm.
How long does Shadow Banning last?
According to TikTok in 2023, shadow banning can last up to 2 weeks. However, some users claim it to be longer.
How do you end Shadow Banning?
Whilst there is no guaranteed solution you can try the following to help remove a shadow ban:
1. Delete Your Flagged Content
2. Follow TikTok’s Community Guidelines
3. Avoid Spam-like Behaviour